Skip to content

1/3 Life Crisis

August 9, 2011

We have all heard of the quarter life crisis and a midlife crisis is on the horizon out there somewhere, I am sure, but lately I have been all-consumed with the 1/3 life crisis. Or more specifically, going through it.

It really started to take hold when I turned 33 a few months back (which may mean I am destined to live to 99, which would be a good thing). All of a sudden, something started to shift in me, my likes, my dislikes, my new likes. Something about the way I look at the world and everything in it. Something about my outlook on life…it got…sunnier. Which is profoundly mind-boggling for someone voted “most pessimistic” in high school.

I have adopted a softer, more thoughtful approach to so many things — rather than the classic fashion staples I always relied on like black, white, stripes, flats, I am suddenly taken by patterns, color, layers of jewelry. I was never a huge makeup person and still don’t cake it on, but now I put more thought and effort into it and actually enjoy the ritual each morning, instead of seeing it as a tedious step towards getting out the door. I have been driving a little slower. Not all the time, but some of the time. I chose to read TIME over Harper’s Bazaar at the nail salon the other day. I ordered yoga DVDs and decided to stop trying to torture myself into being a run-on-the-treadmill kind of girl, regardless of how many more calories it may burn. And we all know about the cooking. Out of absolutely nowhere, I have begun pouring over recipes, baking up a storm on Sunday afternoons, and taking pride in preparing a beautiful home-cooked meal for skater hubs every night…after 15 years of takeout.

I have heard so many people say that you become more confident in your 30s. You learn to accept yourself. You find out what really matters.

And I guess that is all a part of it.

But more than anything, I have found that I don’t need to be so hard and fast in life. It’s already hard and fast enough as it is.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2011 6:59 pm

    Amen to that!!! Love this post! 🙂

  2. Kristi permalink
    August 9, 2011 9:08 pm

    Hey! That was nice!

    Kristi

  3. Erin permalink
    August 9, 2011 10:32 pm

    Sure doesn’t sound like a crisis to me! 🙂

  4. August 10, 2011 10:12 am

    Great post! And I couldn’t agree more. For me it happened around 34 or 35. (I just turned 36. It was a little scary.) I feel so much more at peace and so much more focused on emracing every moment. I’ve always loved to cook but now I really get into planning meals and dinner parties. As for fashion? I think my 20’s were all about trying to hard. Now, I think this relaxed feeling helps. I focus more on the basics, being comfortable…and ACCESSORIES! LOL! And while I still enjoy a good cardio workout, I have become a yoga and pilates reformer fanatic. I feel so much stronger and I stand a little taller. Even if I am not the size I wanted to be in my 20’s.
    I’ve also started to care less about STUFF and more about DOING. Like, there was a time when I was so focused on things (clothes, shoes, house stuff,etc.) I still like my stuff, but if I have to chose between buying something or taking a trip? I’ll take the trip!
    I am so glad to have found your blog and I am really enjoying it.
    Best,
    Tina

    • August 10, 2011 10:35 am

      Thanks so much for the feedback! I love seeing that everyone is in the same reflective boat…

  5. October 14, 2011 9:43 am

    Love this. You are so right and it really changes in your 30s, for the better. If you are interested in writing a guest post on my blog as to why you love your 30s, let me know. mythirtyspot at gmail dot com
    🙂

Leave a Reply

